University of Virginia, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
MSE 2090: Introduction to the Science and Engineering of Materials
Fall 2010 MSE 2090 - Section 1, Monday and Wednesday, 08:30 - 9:45 am, Olsson Hall 009




November 28, Sunday
Reminder: We will have the Final Exam Tuesday, December 14, from 14:00 to 17:00, in the same classroom. The exam will have the same style as the tests (~50% multiple choice questions, ~50% problems) but will include a little more (less than twice more) questions/problems as compared to the tests. The final exam will cover all the material we discussed in class (including the two last chapters that were not covered in the tests). Please review your tests and make sure you understand all the mistakes you made (if any)! Ask me if you have any questions.

November 22, Monday
Homework assignment #11 (the last one!) includes the following problems from the textbook: 18.14, 18.17, 18.30, 18.40, 18.D4 and was due December 1, Wednesday.
Solutions are here.

November 12, Friday
We will have Test #2 on Wednesday, November 17. It will cover material from Chapters 7 - 10, 14, 15.

November 6, Saturday
Homework assignment #10 includes the following problems from the textbook: 15.1, 15.6, 15.10, 15.19, 15.34 and was due November 15, Monday.
Solutions are here.

October 31, Sunday
Homework assignment #9 includes the following problems from the textbook: 14.5, 14.8, 14.17, 14.19, 14.25 and was due November 10, Wednesday.
Solutions are here.

October 22, Monday
Homework assignment #8 includes the following problems from the textbook: 10.2, 10.4, 10.5a, 10.9, 10.12 and was due November 3, Wednesday (changed from November 1).
Solutions are here.

October 15, Friday
The day and time of the final exam is Tuesday, December 14, from 14:00 to 17:00, in the same classroom, Olsson Hall 009.

October 11, Monday
Homework assignment #7 includes the following problems from the textbook: 9.13, 9.26, 9.32, 9.57, 9.63 and was due October 25, Monday.
Solutions are here.

October 7, Thursday
Homework assignment #6 includes the following problems from the textbook: 8.2, 8.4, 8.22, 8.27, 8.34 and was due October 18, Monday.
Solutions are here.

October 3, Sunday
Due to travels, the instructor (Zhigilei) will not have office hours on Tuesday, October 5 and Tuesday, October 19.

October 3, Sunday
Homework assignment #5 includes the following problems from the textbook: 7.12, 7.13, 7.29, 7.41, 7.D4, and was due October 13, Wednesday.
Solutions are here.

September 20, Monday
We will have Test #1 next Wednesday, September 29. It will cover material from Chapters 1 - 6. We had an (optional) review session on Friday, September 24, at 3pm, in Olsson Hall 011.

September 20, Monday
Homework assignment #4 includes the following problems from the textbook: 6.8, 6.22, 6.29, 6.41, and 6.D2 (parts a,b,c) and was due September 27, Monday.
Solutions are here.

September 13, Monday
Homework assignment #3 includes the following problems from the textbook: 5.7, 5.8, 5.22, 5.23, 5.D2 and was due September 20, Monday.
Solutions are here.

September 6, Monday
Homework assignment #2 includes the following problems from the textbook: 4.2, 4.9, 4.11, 4.18, 4.D2 and was due September 13, Monday.
Solutions are here.

September 3, Friday
Starting from the next week, the office hours of the graduate teaching assistant, Priya Ghatwai, will change from Tuesdays - Wednesdays to Wednesday - Friday. Hours/place are listed here.

August 30, Monday
Homework assignment #1 includes the following problems from the textbook: 2.14, 2.15, 2.20, 3.7, 3.17, and was due September 6, Monday.
Solutions are here.

August 27, Friday
Welcome to your first Materials Science class! Next week we will discuss the nature of interatomic bonding and the structure of crystalline and non-crystalline materials (Chapters 2 and 3 of the textbook). Please download the Lecture Notes from this Web site (I will try to post new notes at least one day before the corresponding lectures). The notes are in pdf format, in two forms, one slide per page and 4 slides per page. I just started to construct the class web page and material will appear here as course progresses.

Please check this page for more announcements