Charlotte County, New Brunswick, Canada

New Brunswick is one of Canada's Maritime provinces. The area which is now New Brunswick was a part of the French colony of Acadia, which was captured by the British in the late 1750s, and renamed Nova Scotia. The first British settlement was Maugerville in 1762. After the American Revolution, the area was settled by many Loyalists from the United States. In 1784, that portion of Nova Scotia north of the Bay of Fundy was separated and became the Province of New Brunswick. Charlotte County is one of the original counties established in 1785.

Charlotte County, in the southwest of the province, has a land area of 1,243 square miles and has a population (in 1981) of 26,571. The county seat is located in St. Andrews.

Continue the exhibit.
Return to Main Page.
Maintained by:
Last Modified: Monday, November 10, 2003
© Jean L. Cooper and Angelika S. Powell