Math 205A, Graduate Topology

Fall 2013

TTh 11:10 am-12:30 pm, Surge 284

 

Course information

Thursday, September 25: Topologies and bases

Homework: Munkres Section 13, #1, 2, 7 (due Thursday, October 3 at the beginning of class)

Tuesday, October 1: Product and subspace topologies

Homework: Section 16 #1, 3, 4 (due Thursday, October 3)

Thursday, October 3: Closed sets, interiors and closures, and the Hausdorff condition

Homework: Section 17 # 2, 6, 11, 19

Tuesday, October 8: Continuity

Homework: Section 18 #1, 2

Thursday, October 10: More general product spaces

Homework: Section 18 #4, 5, 9, 13 and Section 19 #5

Tuesday, October 15: Metric spaces

Homework: Section 20 #3 and Section 21 #1, 2

Thursday, October 17: Quotient topology

Homework: Section 22 #1, 2

Tuesday, October 22: Connectedness

Homework: Section 23 #2, 5 (due this week), Section 24 #1, 8 (due next week)

Thursday, October 24: Compactness

Homework: Section 25 #8 and Section 26 #3, 5, 6

Tuesday, October 29: Compactness and metric spaces

Homework: Section 27 #6 (due next week)

Thursday, October 31: Local compactness

Homework: Section 29 #5, 6

Tuesday, November 5: Midterm exam

Thursday, November 7: Homotopy

Homework: Section 51 #1-3

Tuesday, November 12: Fundamental group

Homework: Corrections to midterm exam can be turned in next Tuesday

Thursday, November 14: Covering spaces

Homework: Section 52 #2, 4, 6 and Section 53 #3, 4, 5

Tuesday, November 19: Correspondence between covering spaces and fundamental group

Homework: Section 54 #7, 8

Thursday, November 21: Retractions and deformation retractions

Homework: Section 5.5 #1, 2 (due next TUESDAY)

Tuesday, November 26: Homotopy equivalence

Homework: Section 58 #4, 5 and Section 60 #1, 4

Thursday, November 28: No class Thanksgiving

Tuesday, December 3: Seifert-van Kampen theorem

Homework: Section 71 #3

Thursday: December 5: Fundamental groups of surfaces

Suggested problem: Section 73 #1

Tuesday, December 10: Final Exam 8-11 am


Last updated: 5 December 2013